small axe

Video: Tiana Major 9 – Silly Games Studio Session (from the Small Axe soundtrack)

In Other, Reggae & Dancehall by Nick Russell

As the first single from the official soundtrack to the landmark five-film anthology Small Axe (as released by Motown Records UK) here’s Tiana Major9’s rework of Janet Kay’s classic Lovers Rock song ‘Silly Games’. Check out the visualiser capturing the recording process. Tiana Major9: “Silly Games by Janet Kay played a huge part in changing a generation by pushing the culture forward, as well as making the dream of creating timeless Black British Art a reality.”

As curated by director Steve McQueen, the soundtrack, released on June 12 also features Michael Kiwanuka’s rendition of the timeless ‘To Be Young, Gifted And Black’.  Check out the full track list below. The Small Axe Official Soundtrack will be accompanied by a limited edition vinyl release with artwork direction by phenomenal creative collective; Mabdulle, Tara Ung and Wwwesh Studio.


  1. Mica Levi – Protest
  2. Toots & The Maytals – Pressure Drop
  3. Prince Far I – Throw Away Your Gun
  4. Linton Kwesi Johnson – New Crass Massahkah
  5. Sheyi Cole – Uprising
  6. Marvin Gaye – Got To Give It Up
  7. Tiana Major9 – Silly Games
  8. Rochenda Sandall – Dread Beat An’ Blood
  9. Mica Levi – Old Bailey
  10. Michael Kiwanuka – To Be Young, Gifted And Black
  11. Imagination – So Good, So Right
  12. Junior English – After Tonight
  13. Mica Levi – In God You Must Trust
  14. Shaun Parkes – Inglan Is A Bitch
  15. Janet Kay – Silly Games (Lovers Rock Edit)
  16. King Tubby, Augustus Pablo & The Aggrovators – More Warning