nina simone, stephen marley

Stephen Marley releases new EP ‘Celebrating Nina Simone’ ft. Etana, Queen Ifrica & more

In Reggae & Dancehall by Nick Russell

One of the most accomplished and well rounded names in contemporary reggae music, Multi-GRAMMY Award-winner Stephen Marley has dropped an innovative new project fusing the songs of the iconic Nina Simone, with one-drop reggae rhythms. On his new seven track EP, he features a range of the leading accomplished female vocalists to revisit songs written or previously covered by the North Carolina born singer, songwriter, musician, arranger, and civil rights activist. Born Eunice Kathleen Waymon, Simone’s music spanned styles including classical, jazz, blues, folk, R&B, gospel and pop. The project was co-produced by Paul Fakhourie, whilst mix and mastering was carried out by legendary Errol Brown, who was also Bob Marley’s engineer!
“This project is about preserving Nina Simone’s legacy, passing it on to younger generations, including my children, because you don’t often find music this substantial. When we started this project, we reached out to Nina’s daughter (Lisa Simone Kelly) and to the Nina Simone Foundation to establish a connection; we want to donate a portion of proceeds to the things that she was all about.” Stephen Marley
Stream the EP here and watch the video for ‘Young, Gifted, and Black’ by Etana and ‘Four Women’ by Queen Ifrica. See below for the full track list.


Track Listing
1. Etana – Young Gifted and Black
2. Terri Walker – No Good Man
3. Maya Azucena – Mr. Bojangles
4. Joss Stone – Here Comes The Sun
5. Queen Ifrica – Four Women
6. Melanie Fiona – Don’t Explain
7. Cedella Marley – Misunderstood