Review: Ab-Soul – These Days… (+ Album Stream and tracklisting)

In Hip Hop by Nick Russell


Review: Ab-Soul – These Days… (+ Album Stream and tracklisting)

Top Dawg Entertainment release their latest contribution to the new school of Hip-Hop with Ab-soul album ‘These Days’. The album has that familiar Black Hippy sound combined with collaborations with Rick Ross, Kendrick Lamar, Danny Brown and a host of others. The best feature of the album is that it is  completely unique when compared to Good Kid Mad City from Kendrick or Oxymoron by Schoolboy Q, the tracklist seems almost as if each song was positioned at random.

Ab-soul has a talent for distorting the listeners’ understanding of the message that’s being put across, from “Hunnid Stax” featuring Schoolboy and Mac Miller to “Sapiosexual” produced by J.Cole, all the way to “Stigmata” featuring Action Bronson. Soul floats between the modern day ignorance of American Hip-Hop to the incisive and analytical tracks that California artists have become known for. Well worth a listen for people keeping note of the direction of new school West coast Hip-Hop.



1. God’s Reign (Feat. SZA) “Prod. Purity Ring”
2. Tree of Life “Prod. Curti$$ King & DJ Dahi”
3. Hunnid Stax (Feat. ScHoolboy Q) “Prod. Kenny Beats”
4. Dub Sac “Prod. Dave Free & Tommy Black”
5. World Runners (Feat. Lupe Fiasco & Nikki Jean) “Prod. Tae Beast”
6. Nevermind That (Feat. Rick Ross) “Prod. SorekProd”
7. TWACT (Feat. Jinx & Short Dawg) “Prod. DNYC3”
8. Just Have Fun “Prod. Like & Blended Babies”
9. Kendrick Lamar’s Interlude (Feat. Kendrick Lamar) “Prod. Terrace Martin”
10. Closure (feat. Jhené Aiko) “Prod. Sounwave”
11. Sapiosexual “Prod. J. Cole”
12. Stigmata (Feat. Action Bronson & Asaad) “Prod. Rahki”
13. Feelin’ Us (Feat. Jay Rock & RaVaughn) “Prod. Skhye Hutch”
14. Ride Slow (Feat. Danny Brown, Delusional Thomas & Earl Sweatshirt) “Prod. Larry Fisherman”
15. W.R.O.H. (Feat. JMSN) “Prod. Tae Beast”