Album Review: Ras Beats – Control Your Own

In Uncategorized by Tom Hill

Album Review: Ras Beats – Control Your Own

The debut album from Ras Beats Control Your Own sees the New York producer assembling an ensemble cast of some of underground hip hop’s biggest names for this full length effort. Laying on a range of gritty boom bap beats Ras gets off to a strong start with the atmospheric Roc Marciano assisted Wit No Pressure following straight from the intro.

Relying mainly on a mix of head nodding percussion and instrument loops the beats are kept fairly simple and effective which gives a chance to showcase some of the lyrical talent involved in the project including names such as Sadat X and Masta Ace.

Speaking to Stop the Breaks Ras Beats explained the album’s aim of staying true to New York tradition and building on it which certainly comes across with an authentic East Coast underground style both lyrically and in the production. Knowledge is a recurring theme across the album with tracks such as Study and Bust the Science embracing hip hop’s fifth element whilst the thought provoking ponderings of Knowledge of Self question a range of contemporary social problems.

A strong debut release Control Your Own offers both a clear introduction to Ras Beats and a cast of guests that will instantly resonate with any fans of the genre.

Control Your Own is available for streaming on SoundCloud below  or download on iTunes.

Vinyl and CD is also available from



01. Control Your Own
02. Wit No Pressure (feat. Roc Marciano)
03. Study (feat. Blacastan & Rasheed Chappell)
04. Shoebox (feat. JBiz)
05. Let It Be (feat. Masta Ace)
06. Front Line (feat. Fev)
07. Knowledge of Self (feat. O.C. & Elzhi)
08. Anticipation (feat. Kool Sphere)
09. Queens
10. Survive (feat. Sadat X)
11. Bust the Science (feat. Sureshot La Rock)
12. Back Against the Wall (feat. Sub Con & Breeze Brewin)
13. God Bless (feat. JBiz & A.G.)
14. Hero